Archive | August 2012

Farley s five dime For fans of Melody Carlson and Carolyn Keene

Farley s five dime For fans of Melody Carlson and Carolyn Keene By Rene Riva
Farley’s Five-and-Dime plops the reader into a fun, folksy, small town setting, with a touch of romance, humor, and sweet southern charm.Set in the small town of Hog Eye Holler, Kentucky, in the 1950’s. Kids, and the young at heart alike, will enjoy meeting eleven-year-old Mazie May Farley; a cross between Pippi Longstocking and Caddie Woodlawn. The high spirited, red-headed whirlwind who helps her family run the local Five-and–Dime, has her sights on the popular town hunk-a-hunk, Billy Ray Baxter. In her comical, self-defeating schemes to snag Billy Ray away from Emma Jean Jacobs, Mazie is taken by surprise at the outcome of her high jinx attempts. When Billy fails to fall for Mazie’s numerous attempts to get him to invite her to the long anticipated Sweetheart Waltz, she raises the stakes higher and higher. Chaos and calamity ensue. The story ends on a note of sweet serendipity—but may not be exactly what Mazie was shooting for. Sometimes life has a way of surprising us when we are busy making other plans.
Several people had recommended this book to me. I decided to order the book going through the book together and taking the quizzes. Farley s five dime For fans of Melody Carlson and Carolyn Keene is a great coversation starter and definitely worth purchasing.
I enjoyed the characters, storyline and suspense. I also love the main character, This is well worth reading, I am motivated to read the previous books in the series. However, the pricing does need to be better and more consistent. All in all, this is a fun read!

The Eidolon Offramp

The Eidolon Offramp By Richard Alan Dickson
Stay out of the PFAST lane. Gary knew the saying. He’d heard it all his life, even before Phased-Frequency travel: one highway split into a million different overlapping roads. It was the ultimate solution to gridlock, except for the few who never rematerialized at the end of the ride. No, sir. Gary never traveled the road. Naturally, that was the one thing his kid brother wanted him to do. But Gary knew the saying… He should have just said no. * * * This electronic edition of the story, “The Eidolon Offramp” includes the complete bonus story, “Red, White and Retirement Blues.”
I highly recommend The Eidolon Offramp. All in a good book not regretting having read it.
I absolutely love The Eidolon Offramp. All of this book, I have read this book twice, and have recommended it to all of my friends and family. Such an amazing book, please read it!!

Florissant

The first civil government in Florissant was established in 1786, three years before the United States adopted its constitution and George Washington was elected the country’s first president. French farmers and fur trappers looked upon the land and called it the “Valle Fleurissant”-which is to say, “the flowering or fertile valley.” The community remained small until after World War II. Between 1950 and 1980, the population grew from 3,737 to 76,754. Today the community strives to preserve its proud heritage and build on the strength of its diverse population. The historic images in this book illustrate the city’s founding and development, from the first French settlers to the post World War II building boom to the exciting new city of today.
I highly recommend you read Florissant. It is easy to read, contains a lot of information; but follows up with great explanations.
Florissant By John A. Wright Sr.
Florissant was very good. I didn’t want to put this book down when I read it. The ending really left me hanging though. I wish I could know what happens.

Another Home Another Love

Another Home Another Love By Gwen Kirkwood
Rosemary Palmer-Farr loves farming and animals and has spent much of her childhood at Bengairney Farm with her dearest friends, the Carafords. Now, as a young woman, she wants to prove herself a good businesswoman by running the gardens of her father’s dwindling estate. Her mother, Catherine, is not impressed and wants her to secure a good marriage. She looks down on the Carafords because they are only tenant farmers. When childhood friendship deepens into love, Catherine takes action and extracts a promise from Sam Caraford calculated to keep the young couple apart. She throws Rosemary into the company of eligible young gentleman, but Rosemary despises their attitudes and yearns only for Sam’s love.
Now I’m gonna have to go back and read his previous works, and I can’t wait!
I’m guessing there will be a sequel. I liked Another Home Another Love and would like to read what happens.

Demonspell by Phoebe Matthews

Along with a big house and income, Elaine inherits five immortal relatives who need constant attention. Try keeping a husband with that set of in-laws. Yes, she has tried. Twice. And failed. Now, just when she meets a new guy, a band of demons demands that Elaine and her family leave Seattle immediately, alive or dead. Demonspell is the first book of the new urban fantasy/paranormal Sunspinners series by Phoebe Matthews, author of the EPIC Award winning Mudflat series.
Demonspell by Phoebe Matthews was an amazing start to understanding the cause of many of my relationship struggles and more importantly, how to begin to fix them. The other book I highly recommend reading.
Demonspell by Phoebe Matthews By Phoebe Matthews
This is a wonderful Demonspell by Phoebe Matthews if you don’t think you’re perfect. It contains all the information you need to correct any of your own bad habits, and to understand the behavior of others.