Archives

Farley s five dime For fans of Melody Carlson and Carolyn Keene

Farley s five dime For fans of Melody Carlson and Carolyn Keene By Rene Riva
Farley’s Five-and-Dime plops the reader into a fun, folksy, small town setting, with a touch of romance, humor, and sweet southern charm.Set in the small town of Hog Eye Holler, Kentucky, in the 1950’s. Kids, and the young at heart alike, will enjoy meeting eleven-year-old Mazie May Farley; a cross between Pippi Longstocking and Caddie Woodlawn. The high spirited, red-headed whirlwind who helps her family run the local Five-and–Dime, has her sights on the popular town hunk-a-hunk, Billy Ray Baxter. In her comical, self-defeating schemes to snag Billy Ray away from Emma Jean Jacobs, Mazie is taken by surprise at the outcome of her high jinx attempts. When Billy fails to fall for Mazie’s numerous attempts to get him to invite her to the long anticipated Sweetheart Waltz, she raises the stakes higher and higher. Chaos and calamity ensue. The story ends on a note of sweet serendipity—but may not be exactly what Mazie was shooting for. Sometimes life has a way of surprising us when we are busy making other plans.
Several people had recommended this book to me. I decided to order the book going through the book together and taking the quizzes. Farley s five dime For fans of Melody Carlson and Carolyn Keene is a great coversation starter and definitely worth purchasing.
I enjoyed the characters, storyline and suspense. I also love the main character, This is well worth reading, I am motivated to read the previous books in the series. However, the pricing does need to be better and more consistent. All in all, this is a fun read!
Advertisements